Research Materials

Research Topics

Literary Criticism

Databases

Pathfinders

Ask a librarian!

  Blackwater > Research > Research Topics > Literary Criticism

Literary Criticism

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select [from the library] [from home]
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works, and sources for further study.

The Oxford Companion to American Literature REF 810.9 Har
Over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.

The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare REF 822.33 Oxf
Comprising more than 3000 entries, it covers topics such as Shakespeare's biography, legend, works, literary features and terms, individuals (both real and fictional), and a host of topics such as Elizabethan and Jacobean literature and theater, which help put in context both the times and the works.

Novels for Students REF 809.3 Nov
Each volume in this series contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of approximately 15 major works from various cultures and time periods, including concise synopses of plot, characters and themes; a brief author biography; a discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance; and excerpted criticism.

Poetry for Students REF 809.1 Po
This series is designed specifically to meet the curricular needs of high school and undergraduate college students studying poetry. A quick but information-rich reference source, each volume of Poetry for Students provides analysis of approximately 20 poems that teachers and librarians have identified as the most frequently studied in literature courses

Drama for Students REF 809.2 Dr
Every bi-annual volume of Drama for Students features coverage of 15 to 20 plays most frequently studied in literature classes.

Epics for Students REF 809.132 Ep
This resource is designed to provide students and other researchers with a guide to understanding and enjoying the epic literature that is most studied in classrooms. Each entry includes an introductory essay; biographical information on the author; a plot summary; an examination of the epic's principal themes, style, construction, historical background and critical reception; and at least one original essay

Shakespeare for Students REF 822.33 Sh
You will find a diverse blend of criticism along with plot summaries and character profiles that help further decode these dramatic masterpieces for students. Each play is treated with approximately 50-75 pages of text. The format consists of three major sections: Introduction, Critical Commentary, and Sources for Further Study.

Short Stories for Students REF 809.31 Sh
This illustrated series contains concise synopses of the story's plot, characters and themes, along with a brief author biography, a discussion of the story's cultural and historical significance and excerpted criticism geared specifically towards the high school student.

African-American Poets: Phyllis Wheatley through Melvin B. Tolson
African-American Poets: Robert Hayden through Rita Dove
NF 811.509 Afr
Presents critical analyses of the work of nine African-American poets from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, including Phyllis Wheatley, James Weldon Johnson, and Langston Hughes


 

 
Headquarters: 22511 Main St, Courtland VA 23837 USA  •  ph. 757.653.2821
webmaster@blackwaterlib.org  •  site map  •  job opportunities  •  ask a librarian
Blackwater Regional Library