Research Materials

Research Topics

Health

Databases

Pathfinders

Ask a librarian!

  Blackwater > Research > Research Topics > Health

Health

Health & Wellness Resource Center [from the library] [from home]
Includes articles from health and fitness magazines and scholarly medical journals, medical dictionary and encyclopedias, health organization directory, health news, drug and herb finder, alternative health resources, and health assessment tools.

Southampton Memorial Hospital
In-depth, accurate information from a community neighbor.

MindZone
A mental health site for teens.

WebMD
Provides quality health information and services to consumers, physicians, employers and health plan members.

Medline Plus
The National Library of Medicine offers this gold mine of health care information. Provides access to extensive information about specific diseases, conditions, and health topics.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The official site of the FDA. Information for patients, health care professionals, and consumers.

Mayo Clinic
Directed by the Mayo Clinic physicians and researcher, this website provides current, accurate health information.

National Institute of Mental Health
Contains information about symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment for every type of mental illness, from depression to schizonphrenia.

Heart Information Network
A fantastic resource for heart information.

Free Medical Journals
This website is dedicated to the free distribution of medical journals and health information over the internet.

VA Board of Medicine Practitioner Information
Obtain information on Doctors of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, and Podiatry who are currently licensed in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Center for Complementary & Alternative Medicine
A database of alternative health care information based on scientific findings. Links to journals and the latest information on cancer-related alternative care.

Merck Manual: Home Edition
Provides reliable medical information in everyday language.

Senior Navigator
Articles on health information for seniors and senior caregivers. You can even email medical experts to get the answers you need.

Books:

The Merck Manual of Medical Information (2004). Adult Non-Fiction 616 Mer.
Simple entries address a wide range of medical conditions. Additional chapters provide special treatment of men’s, women’s, elderly, and children’s health issues. Look for helpful illustrations, charts, and graphs.

Physicians Desk Reference (2003). Adult Non-Fiction 615.1 Pdr.
Vital information on over 4,000 prescription drugs (which are addressed by both brand and generic name) appears in this pocket guide. You’ll find up-to-date information on interactions with other drugs, contraindications, side effects, black box warnings, and recommended dosages.

American Medical Association Family Medical Guide (2004): REF 613 Ame.
This resource provides information on hundreds of diseases and current tests, treatments, procedures, and drugs. It also covers genetic testing, sexuality, learning disabilities, preventive health, infertility, pregnancy and childbirth, substance abuse, depression, home care giving, and first aid. Look for full-color spreads on important health topics, Q&A sections, illustrations, first-person case histories, and newly designed symptoms flowcharts

Prescription for Natural Cures (2004): Adult Non-Fiction 615.535 Bal.
This self-care guide offer information about treating diseases and health problems with natural remedies including diet and nutrition, herbal medicine, nutritional supplements, bodywork, and more.

 

 
Headquarters: 22511 Main St, Courtland VA 23837 USA  •  ph. 757.653.2821
webmaster@blackwaterlib.org  •  site map  •  job opportunities  •  ask a librarian
Blackwater Regional Library