Research Materials

Research Topics

Citing Information

Databases

Pathfinders

Ask a librarian!

  Blackwater > Research > Research Topics > Citations 101

Citing Information

Citation Machine: http://citationmachine.net/
You input the information, and the Citation Machine returns your citation in MLA or APA style.

APA: American Psychological Association
This citation format was instituted by the American Psychological Association. It is the technique prefered by the social sciences, which include psychology and social work. Here are a few basics for citing in APA. For more in-depth citing information, the book would be your best source [808.02 Pub].

Article from a Scholarly Journal (Online):

Walker, S.M. (2005). A Story Hidden Under the Sea. Booklist, 102, 60-61. Retrieved
     February 14, 2006 from Expanded Academic ASAP.

Full-text Newspaper Article without an Author (Online Database):

Judging Samuel Alito. (2006, January 8). The New York Times, p. 4.13. Retrieved
     January 21, 2006, from ELibrary Database.

Website:

Smith, J. (2006). Sizing up an Old Bone Hound. Retrieved February 2, 2006, from
     The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Endeavors Magazine
     Website: http://research.unc.edu/endeavors/win2006/feature_02.php

Book:

Roberts, C. (2004). Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation.
     New York: William Morrow.

Edited Book:

Bloom, H. (Ed). (1985). Alfred Lord Tennyson. New York: Chelsea House.



MLA: Modern Language Association
This citation format was instituted by the Modern Language Association. It is the technique preferred by the humanities, such as English Literature. Here are a few basics for citing in MLA. For more in-depth citing information, the book would be your best source [808.02 Gib] .

Article from a Scholarly Journal (Online):

Walker, Sally M. "A Story Hidden Under the Sea." Booklist 102.7 (2005): 60-61.
     Expanded Academic ASAP. 14 Feb. 2006 <http://web5.infotrac.galegroup.com      /itw/infomark>.

Full-text Newspaper Article without an Author (Online Database):

"Judging Samuel Alito." The New York Times 8 Jan. 2006. ELibrary. 21 Jan. 2006      <http://elibrary.bigchalk.com/libweb/elib/do/>.

Book:

Roberts, Cokie. Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation. New York:
      William Morrow, 2004.

Edited Book:

Bloom, Howard, ed. Alfred Lord Tennyson. New York: Chelsea House, 1985.



Chicago Style [REF 808.02 Ch]
This citation format was established by the University of Chicago Press. The Chicago Style has two different systems. The Notes and Bibliography System is traditionally used by the arts and humanities. The author-date system is recommended for the natural and social sciences. Here are a few basics for citing in Chicago Style. For more in-depth citing information, the book would be your best choice [REF 808.02 Ch].

Notes and Bibliography System

Article for a Scholarly Journal (Online):

Walker, Sally M. "A Story Hidden Under the Sea." Booklist 102, no. 7 (2005): 60-61.
     http://web5.infotrac.galegroup.com/itw/infomark.

Full-text Newspaper Article (Online Database):

Kranish, Michael. "Alito's Classic Family Odyssey." The Boston Globe. December 11,
     2005. http://elibrary.bigchalk.com.

Website

U.S. Department of State. "Current Travel Warnings." http://travel.state.gov/travel
     /cis_pa_tw/tw/tw_1764.html.

Book:

Roberts, Cokie. Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation. New York:
      William Morrow, 2004.

Edited Book:

Bloom, Howard, ed. Alfred Lord Tennyson. New York: Chelsea House, 1985.

Author-Date System

Article from a Scholarly Journal (Online):

Walker, Sally M. 2005. A Story Hidden Under the Sea. Booklist 102 (7): 60-61.
     http://web5.infotrac.galegroup.com/itw/infomark.

Full-text Newspaper Article (Online Database):

Kranish, Michael. 2005. Alito's Classic Family Odyssey. The Boston Globe.      December 11, 2005. http://elibrary.bigchalk.com.

Book:

Roberts, Cokie. 2004. Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation. New      York: William Morrow.

Edited Book:

Bloom, Howard, ed. 1985. Alfred Lord Tennyson. New York: Chelsea House.

 

 
Headquarters: 22511 Main St, Courtland VA 23837 USA  •  ph. 757.653.2821
webmaster@blackwaterlib.org  •  site map  •  job opportunities  •  ask a librarian
Blackwater Regional Library