Research Materials

Research Topics

Genealogy

Databases

Statement

Search the Web

Ask a librarian!

  Blackwater > Research > Databases > Statement on Databases

Statement on Databases

Dear Teachers and Parents:

We are proud that you depend on Blackwater Regional Library to provide quality resources for your students’ academic assignments. You have confidence in our books, reference collections, and knowledgeable staff.

Now we invite you and your students to use our electronic databases. Our databases contain electronic versions of traditional print materials such as books and periodicals. The information you find in our databases is identical to what you would find in print reference resources.

  • Electronic databases at the library are
  • Searchable by keyword
  • Accessible by any computer with an Internet connection
  • Better than an internet search—you can trust the information to be current and accurate

Just like looking in books—they can be used as book citations for research papers

Our 23 databases contain tens of thousands of resources that you won’t find on the internet. Many of the databases lend themselves to student research: elementary school students might want to start with Kid’s Edition – K12, while older students will love General Reference Center Gold.

Want help searching the databases? Have questions about using databases in school assignments? Need help citing a resource? Ask a librarian! Visit in person, call your local branch, or email us at .

Happy researching!

 

 
Headquarters: 22511 Main St, Courtland VA 23837 USA  •  ph. 757.653.2821
webmaster@blackwaterlib.org  •  site map  •  job opportunities  •  ask a librarian
Blackwater Regional Library