General Research

Education & Testing

Health

Technology

Business

Educators

For kids

Legal

Literature & Reading

People & Families

Millitary & Government

Religion & Philosophy

Ask a librarian!

  Blackwater > Research > Databases > General Research

General Research

ELibrary [from the library] [from home]

Search current full text magazines, newspapers, pictures, maps, and TV & Radio transcripts through a simple search box. Includes the Richmond Times-Dispatch, Daily Press, Washington Post, Washington Times, and some Spanish-language publications.

Expanded Academic ASAP [from the library] [from home]

From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers—many with full text and images.

Gale Virtual Reference Library [from the library] [from home]

Access to 5 essential reference books: Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural American, Encyclopedia of American Industries.

General Reference Center Gold [from the library] [from home]

Integrates a variety of sources in one easy to use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

InfoTrac OneFile [from the library] [from home]

Information on many topics, including the humanities, education, business, science, current events, art, politics, economics, social science, law, health care, computers, technology, and environmental issues. Millions of full-text articles from magazines and news sources, many with images. Updated daily.

SIRS Knowledge Source [from the library] [from home]

Integrated access to the following databases:

  • SIRS Government Reporter [from the library] [from home]
    Historic and government documents, directories and almanacs; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about federal departments, agencies, elected leaders and more. Links to interactive workbooks, “What Citizens Need to Know about Government.”
  • SIRS Renaissance [from the library] [from home]
    Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics—including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
  • SIRS Researcher [from the library] [from home]
    For general reference, social issues, health, science, and business.

 

 
Headquarters: 22511 Main St, Courtland VA 23837 USA  •  ph. 757.653.2821
webmaster@blackwaterlib.org  •  site map  •  job opportunities  •  ask a librarian
Blackwater Regional Library