CALL FOR
INFORMATION
(757) 653-0298
Classic PAC Search
LS2 PAC Search
eBookbutton1.png
librarian.jpg
donate.jpg
BRLmobilebutton2.0.png
FBicon.jpg
HealthCare.png

Branch Locations
Bookmobile
Carrollton
Claremont
Courtland
Franklin
Smithfield
Surry
Wakefield
Waverly
Windsor

Databases

Last Updated: 09/26/2014

Blackwater Regional Library provides these quality databases free of charge for our patrons. What are databases? Click here to find out. Simply click on a database's logo to be taken to its website.

Genealogy Resources

Genealogy logo

 

Databases

ChiltonLibrary - represents Chilton Library Logothe most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

You may be logged in automatically. If not, enter the password 'blackwater'.

 

Consumer Reports Logo

Consumer Reports - the largest paid-publication, subscription-based website in the world. Consumer Reports enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Consumer Reports provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services from appliances to cars.

Login: User ID: s9222801 PW: password

 

FindItVA Logo The best place to start! A one-stop shop of general and specialized research databases, provided by Gale Online Resources, great for elementary school students through adults.These databases contain articles from scholarly journals, reference books, magazines, and newspapers. Broad database topics cover: Business, Careers, Current Events, History, Health, Hobbies, Magazines, Military & Government, Religion & Philosophy, and Science & Technology. Also includes Kids InfoBits.

Find It Virginia may log you in automatically. If not, some computers ask for your library card number and others ask for a password - enter "blackwater."


JobandCareerAccelerator_GIF.gifJob & Career Accelerator (JCA) - Get detailed information on occupations that suit your interests. Access current job listings from over 5 million job postings, which are collected from all major job boards. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more. Job & Career Accelerator is your guide to getting hired!(Also accessible through LearningExpress Library)


LEL_Logo NEW.jpgLearningExpress Library (LEL) is an interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Also included are great introductions to computer and Internet basics, and popular software tutorials, such as Adobe Photoshop, Microsoft Excel, and more! Direct access to Job & Career Accelerator, as well.


lva_litpub-hh_banner.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Literati Public - includes a host of resources, such as educational content for K-12 students and adults, informational videos and tutorials, interactive discovery tools, and Homework Help for students grades 3-12 in the areas of math, reading, and writing.

You should be logged in automatically if within one of the branches. If not, go to the top left, locate Blackwater Regional Library, and enter your library card number when prompted.

NoveList Plus NoveList Plus - Looking for more books like your favorites? Want to find a new author? Can't remember all of the titles in a series? NoveList Plus has the answers! Get recommended readings lists, book discussion guides and more!

Login: User ID: s9222801 PW: password


NoveList K-8 Plus NoveList K-8 Plus - Geared towards readers in kindergarten through 8th grade, NoveList K-8 can help you and your child find their next favorite book. Includes recommended reading lists and curricular connections perfect for homeschoolers and teachers.

Login: User ID: s9222801 PW: password

One Click Digital buttonOne Click Digital - Check out downloadable audiobooks. Current collection has 200 classic audiobook titles.

Patrons will need to create an account, and use their library card number as verification for the service. Patrons can use library card number as username. See tutorial.


RL_WEB180x150.jpg Rocket Languages Library Edition - Want to learn a new language or need some help brushing up on what you already know? Rocket Languages provides complete audio lessons on broad topics covering typical/every day conversations someone might have, vocabulary, culture, idioms, and practices. Rocket Languages has 11 different languages (including English as a Second Language and American Sign Language).

Patrons must create an account before they can use Rocket Languages. You will need the barcode number from your library card and an email address.


Zinio Web BannerZinio Digital Magazines - enjoy unlimited access to popular magazines, right on your computer or mobile device. Available magazines.

Patrons will need their library card number to validate, and then create accounts for viewing and downloading. Please see user guide.

© Copyright 2014. Blackwater Regional Library. All Rights Reserved. website by ciniva.